Posted by: mrpeatie | March 9, 2010

Kauai, Hawaii

I was fortunate enough to visit Hawaii when I was in high school. I traveled their with my parents and spent time on the Big Island and Oahu. The mountains, volcanoes, cliffs, waves, and dynamic weather left me in awe at almost every moment. Even how the islands formed was fascinating to me. A rupture in the earth’s crust caused a vent to spew magma into the freezing ocean water thousands of feet below the surface. The magma cooled and built upon itself until eventually it reached the surface. As the plate shifted over the opening new islands formed over thousands of years.

We are seeing this all in action today as the same vent is still doing its thing. The Big Island continues to add land from its active volcanoes and there is even a new island forming under the surface which will one day form a new island called Lo’ihi. You can actually see it under the surface to the southeast of the Big Island in the Google Maps image below.

I will be heading back to Hawaii in a few days. I will spend all my time on Kauai. I only know a few things that I’ve read about it in books and online. A few Facebook friends offered their suggestions as well. If you have any suggestions, recommendations, or experiences about this island, I’d love to hear it.

Just one of the many ridiculous vistas I hope to see…

Leave a Reply

Categories

