Posted by: mrpeatie | June 30, 2008

DMB Summer Covers

The Dave Matthews Band has a rich history of incorporating cover songs into almost every set list. Their most popular cover song is arguably Dylan’s All Along the Watchtower. Although they haven’t played that one yet this tour, the other covers that have shown up more then make up for Watchtower’s absence.

Here’s a quick rundown of most of the covers the band has been playing this tour. I would guess that at least two of these will show up for Friday night’s show at Joe Riley Stadium.

MoneyPink Floyd cover. Band is enjoying playing this one. Good chance we’ll hear it Friday night.

Money (That’s What I Want) – this is a 1959 hit single by Barrett Strong.

Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) – Sly and The Family Stone cover. Groovy freaking song. The band has been playing this one a lot and it’s easy to see why.

BitchRolling Stones cover.

Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black) –  Classic rock and roll song from Neil Young.

The Maker – Daniel Lanios crafted this beautiful tune. The band featured it in many set lists throughout the years. It’s shown up twice so far this tour.

The Long Black Veil – Classic country ballad recorded in 1959 by Lefty Frizzell. Johny Cash also did a popular version of this song. This one was featured in the band’s set lists several years ago but was never heard from again until the 6.6.08 show. It was only played that one time on this tour and it is unlikely we’ll hear it.

Melissa – Allman Brothers classic. They played it early in the tour this season but hasn’t showed up since.

One other cover that might show its head at our show is Sweet Caroline. This is pure speculation on my part though as they haven’t played it at all this year. The band played it last summer at Fenway where it is sung every game during the 7th inning stretch. The only parallels I’m drawing is that our Charleston show is taking place at a baseball stadium (like Fenway) which isn’t a typical DMB concert venue.

If I had to pick two, put me down for Thank You and Long Black Veil. Howzaboutyou?

Responses

  1. They will play Hey Hey, My My and Thank You

  2. I read HHMM got cut from last night’s show but was on the set list. Thank You has been absent the last couple shows too so those two do seem likely.

    Sugar Will was soundchecked in Raleigh. Not a cover off course, but could pop up in Charleston.

  3. We got Sail Away (debut), Hey Hey My My and Sledgehammer. I really dug Sledgehammer. Never cared for the original all that much, but can’t get the version I heard out of my head.


Leave a Reply

Categories

