Posted by: mrpeatie | April 29, 2008

A Little Bit of Highway Justice

We all have pet peeves when it comes to driving. There are millions of them. I’ve learned to come to terms with most of mine so they don’t aggravate me when I’m on the road. I really hated when other people’s idiocy stole my joy.

One thing that does continue to pester me is needlessly aggressive driving. I don’t mind if you want to go 100 mph on an empty highway or desolate country road and risk your own life. But when it’s crowded during peak rush hour traffic and you insist on trying to swerve in and out of lanes or use a right hand truck lane to go 100 mph and pass a few cars and your reckless driving then risks my life or the lives of other law abiding citizens, then I get pissed. Like really pissed.

I just don’t understand these asshats. It’s rush hour. There are lots of cars on the road. You aren’t getting ahead. Sure you might shave 10 whole seconds off your commute by passing that one car all while risking a horrific multi-car accident, but is that really worth it? Are you really in that big of a hurry to get to work? Really?

I came across one of these asshats today. I was on the local interstate doing my usual 5+mph over the speed limit passing a few slower cars that were in the right lane. This wasn’t good enough for Mr. Red Van Man. I see him coming a mile away in my rearview mirror flying past everyone right up on my ass. I normally like to slow down and piss these people off as much as I can, but I quickly switched lanes. He flew passed me and I cursed the twat under my breath wishing that just once I witness someone blatantly breaking the law and endangering others on the road get caught by the police.

Before this thought left my mind we crested over a small hill and on the side of the road was a police cruiser. He had already clocked Mr. Red Van Man and was getting onto the highway in pursuit. I watched the cop speed past me and pull behind the van with his blue lights flashing. A warmth and calm fell over me. For once some much deserved highway justice had been served.

Leave a Reply

Categories

