Posted by: mrpeatie | March 19, 2008

The Donahue Clan

I was chatting with Mother last Sunday and she was remarkably able to hold out a few minutes into the conversation before passing along word that my older brother Kevin and his wife Kathryn are due to have their first baby in September. This is exciting news. A new member to the Clan always is. Kevin is my middle brother. My eldest brother John lives in Atlanta with his wife and two daughters.

Kevin and Kathryn

I have thoroughly enjoyed being an uncle to my two young nieces. I love spending holidays and vacations with them and they have given me back that Christmas morning magic that I lost sometime around high school. I am looking forward to continuing my uncle duties on our families’ newest member.

I have mixed emotions about this recent news because Kevin and Kathryn live on the other side of the world in Manila which is the capital of the Philippines. They plan to stay there for the foreseeable future. It’s been tough only seeing my brother and sister-in-law maybe once year for the last 5 years and who knows when I’ll get to meet my new niece/nephew.

Kevin and Kathryn are a different breed. They truly enjoy experiencing the world from the unique perspective outside the US. They love to travel and have visited many countries out there like China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Australia, New Zealand, Kazakhstan and heck Kevin even had a brief stint in Kabul…Afghanistan. Mother loved that one. 

I’m sure someday they will return to their roots here in the US. But until then, I’ll just have to wait until the next time their travels bring them back stateside, hopefully with their new little one in tow.

Responses

  1. It’s a GIRL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

