Posted by: mrpeatie | February 2, 2008

Table Topics

I joined Toastmasters shortly after obtaining employment at my current job. Toastmasters is a nonprofit organization that helps develop public speaking and leadership skills through practice and feedback in local clubs. We have such a club at work. I joined it mostly to kiss the ass of my new boss at the time, not because I was looking to improve my public speaking and leadership skills. 99.8% of all people* fear public speaking over death. As Jerry Seinfield once pointed out, that means people would rather be dead, in the coffin at a funeral, then have to give a eulogy.

At a typical Toastmasters meeting, we give speeches, provide feedback, and generally learn how to cope with the fear and anxiety that inevitably comes with public speaking. One of the more interesting aspects of each meeting occurs during table topics. This is where we hone our impromptu speaking skills. The table topics master will provide a random question to an unsuspecting victim who will immediately have to stand up and provide an answer for at least 60 seconds. It can be quite a rush providing a funny, witty, relevant answer to a question or it can be an utter nightmare fumbling through some lame response embarrassing yourself in front of two dozen coworkers.

In what I hope to be a recurring post at yet to be determined intervals, I will provide a table topic question for you, my loyal reader. Off course there are no time limits or requirements for your written response, but the answers are usually entertaining, offering some insight into the individual providing them, which is why I dig them.

So, if you could switch places permanently with any one person who is currently alive, who would it be and why?

Go.

*I totally made this up, but it’s got to be pretty close

Responses

  1. Dave Matthews

    He’s an insanely rich, immensely talented singer and song writer in one of the most popular and profitable touring bands of our time. He’s a family man, gets to travel all over the world, jam with some of the most talented musicians alive, and is generally one sane, humble, cool dude.

  2. I used this question for our table topics contest this morning. Some great responses:

    Contestant 1 chose a friend who lives in Australia

    Contestant 2 chose Eli Manning

    Contestant 3 chose Stephen Hawking

    Contestant 4 chose Britney Spears

  3. Kevin Rose. I mean, how fun would that be?

  4. […] Topics 2.11.08 This is an old Table Topics question I posed a couple years ago. Very challenging coming up with something quickly as there are […]

  5. thats for sure, guy

  6. […] I was glad I didn’t get called on to answer the table topics question though. Man, was it hard. The questions were given by the crafty gentlemen who won the Table Topics contest back in February by answering the question I posed. […]

  7. […] to some routine slackness on my part, I found out only yesterday that I was to be responsible for table topics questions at our Toastmasters meeting this morning. I normally like to let a topic percolate for a […]

  8. […] Topics 3.24.09 The table topic theme for our Toastmasters meeting yesterday was centered around the economy and financial woes […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

